Madison Dearborn Partners’ $1.8 Billion Acquisition of MoneyGram

Latham & Watkins LLP represented MDP in the transaction on the deal while Vinson & Elkins advised MoneyGram International.

MoneyGram International, Inc. (NASDAQ: MGI) (the “Company”), a global leader in money transfer services and the evolution of digital P2P payments, and Madison Dearborn Partners, LLC (MDP), a leading private equity firm based in Chicago, have announced a definitive agreement under which funds affiliated with MDP will acquire all outstanding shares of MoneyGram for US$11 per share in an all-cash transaction valued at approximately US$1.8 billion. In addition, at closing, MDP will also be refinancing the Company’s outstanding debt of approximately US$800 million. 

Latham & Watkins LLP represents MDP in the transaction with an M&A team led by Chicago partners Neal J. Reenan (Picture), Ian Bushner, and Christopher Drewry, with associates William Nahill, Cory Lewis, Valentina Oliver, Dalton Powell, Micah Kamoe, and Andrew Rondeau. Advice was also provided on compliance matters by New York partner Michael Bosworth, with associates Jack McNeily and Gabriel Slater; on emerging payment technologies/money transmission compliance matters by Washington, D.C. partner Todd Beauchamp, with associates Charles Weinstein and Loyal Horsley; on benefits and executive compensation matters by New York partner Jennifer Pepin, with associates Leah Segall and Victoria Wolfe; on antitrust and HSR matters by Bay Area partner Kelly Smith Fayne, Brussels partner Hector Armengod, and Washington, D.C. counsel Joseph Simei; on foreign direct investment matters by Hamburg counsel Jana Dammann de Chapto, with associate Ben Isaacs; on anti-corruption and sanctions matters by Washington, D.C. partners Eric Volkman and Erin Brown Jones, with associate Ehson Kashfipour; on cryptocurrency regulatory matters by New York partners Douglas Yatter and Benjamin Naftalis; on data privacy matters by London partner Fiona Maclean and Bay Area counsel Robert Blamires, with associates Adriana Beach, Irina Vasile, Eing Kai Timothy Neo, and Austin Anderson; on intellectual property matters by Washington, D.C. partner Jeremiah Wolsk and London partner Christian McDermott, with associates Maria Adebayo and Ryan Sanders; on tax matters by Bay Area partner Katharine Moir, with associate Pierce Pandolph; on labor and employment matters by Chicago partner Nineveh Alkhas, with associate Ana Cenaj; on real estate matters by Chicago counsel Jeffrey Anderson; and on environmental matters by Washington, D.C. partner James Barrett, with associate Phil Sandick.

The V&E corporate team was led by partners Alan Bogdanow and Lande Spottswood and senior associate Alex Robertson, with assistance from associate John Sager, senior associate Sang Lee and associates Madison Bertrand and Emiliano Aguirre. Also advising were partner David D’Alessandro, counsel Dario Mendoza and associates Mary Daniel Morgan and Hayden Rutledge; partner Cris Dewar, senior associate Randy Aman and associate Arthur Munoz; partner Ephraim (“Fry”) Wernick and senior associate Brian Howard; partner Hill Wellford, counsel David Smith and senior associate Ryan Will; partner Rick Sofield; counsel Elizabeth McIntyre; partner Craig Zieminski; counsel Rajesh Patel; partner James Meyer and associate Tyler Underwood; partner Sean Becker and associate Andrew Cox; and senior associates Lucy Liu and Joanna Enns and associates Jack Peterson and Nathan Kemp.

Involved fees earner: Maria Adebayo – Latham & Watkins; Nineveh Alkhas – Latham & Watkins; Austin Anderson – Latham & Watkins; Jeffrey Anderson – Latham & Watkins; Héctor Armengod – Latham & Watkins; James Barrett – Latham & Watkins; Adriana Beach – Latham & Watkins; Todd Beauchamp – Latham & Watkins; Robert Blamires – Latham & Watkins; Michael Bosworth – Latham & Watkins; Erin Brown Jones – Latham & Watkins; Ian Bushner – Latham & Watkins; Ana Cenaj – Latham & Watkins; Jana Dammann de Chapto – Latham & Watkins; Christopher Drewry – Latham & Watkins; Loyal Horsley – Latham & Watkins; Ben Isaacs – Latham & Watkins; Micah Kamoe – Latham & Watkins; Ehson Kashfipour – Latham & Watkins; Cory Lewis – Latham & Watkins; Fiona Maclean – Latham & Watkins; Christian McDermott – Latham & Watkins; Jack McNeily – Latham & Watkins; Katharine Moir – Latham & Watkins; Benjamin Naftalis – Latham & Watkins; William Nahill – Latham & Watkins; Eing Kai Timothy Neo – Latham & Watkins; Valentina Oliver – Latham & Watkins; Pierce Pandolph – Latham & Watkins; Jennifer Pepin – Latham & Watkins; Dalton Powell – Latham & Watkins; Neal Reenan – Latham & Watkins; Andrew Rondeau – Latham & Watkins; Ryan Sanders – Latham & Watkins; Phil Sandick – Latham & Watkins; Leah Segall – Latham & Watkins; Joseph Simei – Latham & Watkins; Kelly Smith Fayne – Latham & Watkins; Irina Vasile – Latham & Watkins; Eric Volkman – Latham & Watkins; Charles Weinstein – Latham & Watkins; Victoria Wolfe – Latham & Watkins; Jeremiah Wolsk – Latham & Watkins; Douglas Yatter – Latham & Watkins; Emiliano Aguirre – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Randy Aman – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Sean Becker – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Madison Bertrand – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Alan Bogdanow – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Andrew Thomas Cox – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Christopher Dewar – Vinson & Elkins LLP; David D’Alessandro – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Joanna Enns – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Brian Howard II – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Sang Hun Lee – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Nathan Kemp – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Elizabeth Krabill McIntyre – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Lucy Liu – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Dario Mendoza – Vinson & Elkins LLP; James Meyer – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Mary Daniel Morgan – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Arthur Munoz – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Rajesh Patel – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Jack Peterson – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Alex Robertson – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Hayden Rutledge – Vinson & Elkins LLP; John Sager – Vinson & Elkins LLP; David Smith – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Richard Sofield – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Lande Alexandra Spottswood – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Tyler Underwood – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Hill Wellford – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Ephraim Wernick – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Ryan Will – Vinson & Elkins LLP; Craig Zieminski – Vinson & Elkins LLP;

Law Firms: Latham & Watkins; Vinson & Elkins LLP;

Clients: Madison Dearborn Partners; MoneyGram;