ALD’s Acquisition of LeasePlan

Linklaters advised a consortium led by TDR Capital as part of the LeasePlan and ALD merger project. NautaDutilh and Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier advised ALD and Société Générale. Bredin Prat and De Brauw advised LeasePlan.

LeasePlan, one of the world’s leading vehicle leasing companies, announced its contemplated combination with ALD, Societe Generale’s car leasing division, for EUR 4.9 billion. 

Under the terms of the proposed combination, the consortium of investors who currently own LeasePlan, led by investment funds managed by TDR Capital LLP, will receive a combination of cash consideration and shares and warrants in ALD. 

The combination is subject to information and consultation of relevant works councils and receipt of customary regulatory approvals.

A cross-border team from Linklaters advised the LeasePlan consortium, led by private equity/corporate partners Will Aitken-Davies and Dan Schuster-Woldan (both London), corporate partner Bruno Derieux (Paris) and corporate partner Mariken van Esch (Amsterdam). The corporate team also included associates Rohan Dey, Cameron Western and Andrew Huxtable (all London), counsel Nicolas Le Guillou, managing associate Benjamin Prevost and associates Jacques Mazé, Marine Hennequin (all Paris) and Niki van Kessel (Amsterdam). 
The anti-trust team was led by partner Christian Ahlborn (London) and counsel Neil Hoolihan (Brussels), while counsel Jamie Coomber (London), partner Cyril Boussion and associate Lucille Cazala (both Paris) led the tax team. Financial regulatory advice was provided by partners Peter Bevan (London) and Bas Jennen (Amsterdam), counsel Ngoc-Hong Ma (Paris), managing associate Geoff Ellis and associate Pan Papakyprianou (both London). Partner Géric Clomes, managing associate Alice Klein (both Paris) and counsel Vincent Gerlach (Amsterdam), with associate Jill Reijnen Husagic (Amsterdam) led on employment advice, and partner Bertrand Sénéchal (Paris) on capital markets.

The NautaDutilh team was led by Stefan Wissing and Willianne van Zandwijk and included Jos Somers, Sophie Umans and Dineth de Graaf (Corporate M&A), Jasha Sprecher and Alex Draaisma (Financial Regulatory), Arjan Koorevaar (Employment), Joris Willems and Cyril Christiaans (Commercial Contracts / IT) and Aira Scheijvens (Notarial).

The Bredin Prat team included Matthieu Pouchepadass, Myriam Epelbaum and Corentin Thomas.

The Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier team included Bertrand Cardi, Christophe Vinsonneau, Forrest G. Alogna, Cécile de Narp, Pierre Zejma, Eloy Genest, Didier Théophile, Guillaume Aubron, Aya Bachiri, Hugo Flottes, Laure Laborde, Henri Savoie, Jean-Baptiste Aubert, Guillaume Griffart, Théo Rodriguez-Euzet, Martin Lebeuf, Vincent Agulhon.

The De Brauw team included Pete Lawley, Mariken van Loopik, Barbara Kloppert, Jan Willem Hoevers, Sven Dumoulin, Wiebe Dijkstra, Anna Gorgun, Dana Horvath, Else Loop-Rowel, Han Shi Chen, Manon de Cooman, Tijmen Klein Bronsvoort, Lars Buiten, Max van Geest, Tessa Kok.

Involved fees earner: Myriam Epelbaum – Bredin Prat; Matthieu Pouchepadass – Bredin Prat; Corentin Thomas – Bredin Prat; Vincent Agulhon – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Forrest Alogna – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Jean-Baptiste Aubert – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Guillaume Aubron – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Aya Bachiri – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Bertrand Cardi – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Cécile de Narp – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Hugo Flottes – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Eloy Genest – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Guillaume Griffart – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Martin Lebeuf – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Théo Rodriguez-Euzet – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Henri Savoie – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Didier Théophile – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Christophe Vinsonneau – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Pierre Zejma – Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; Lars Buiten – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Han Shi Chen – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Manon de Cooman – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Wiebe Dijkstra – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Sven Dumoulin – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Anna Gorgun – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Jan Willem Hoevers – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Dana Horvath – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Tijmen Klein Bronsvoort – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Barbara Kloppert-van Duren – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Tessa Kok – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Pete Lawley – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Else Loop-Rowel – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Max van Geest – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Mariken van Loopik – De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Christian Ahlborn – Linklaters; Will Aitken-Davies – Linklaters; Peter Bevan – Linklaters; Cyril Boussion – Linklaters; Lucille Cazala – Linklaters; Géric Clomes – Linklaters; Jamie Coomber – Linklaters; Bruno Derieux – Linklaters; Rohan Dey – Linklaters; Vincent Gerlach – Linklaters; Neil Hoolihan – Linklaters; Andrew Huxtable – Linklaters; Bas Jennen – Linklaters; Alice Klein – Linklaters; Nicolas Le Guillou – Linklaters; Ngoc-Hong Ma – Linklaters; Jacques Mazé – Linklaters; Benjamin Prévost – Linklaters; Jill Reijnen Husagi? – Linklaters; Dan Schuster-Woldan – Linklaters; Bertrand Senechal – Linklaters; Mariken van Esch – Linklaters; Niki van Kessel – Linklaters; Cameron Western – Linklaters; Cyril Christiaans – NautaDutilh; Dineth de Graaf – NautaDutilh; Alex Draaisma – NautaDutilh; Arjan Koorevaar – NautaDutilh; Aira Scheijvens – NautaDutilh; Jos Somers – NautaDutilh; Jasha Sprecher – NautaDutilh; Sophie Umans – NautaDutilh; Willianne Van Zandwijk – NautaDutilh; Joris Willems – NautaDutilh; Stefan Wissing – NautaDutilh;

Law Firms: Bredin Prat; Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier; De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek; Linklaters; NautaDutilh;

Clients: ALD Automotive; LeasePlan; Société Générale; TDR Capital LLP;

Naoual Sadouqi

Author: Naoual Sadouqi